lacing up

The secret’s out… I’ve been following roller derby closely for nearly four years, and yet I don’t know how to skate. I even bought skates 2 years ago for a photo shoot, but couldn’t actually move with them on. So with the encouragement of some new friends, I laced up my skates and took to the track.

I’m surprised my tiny little ankles didn’t snap.

VDP gives me a hand.

Requisite shot of me falling. It only happened twice, but I got a nice bruise.

Finally, it all comes together. I actually did much better than expected. I just tried to do what I’ve been watching for years. I was even able to do crossovers! I did well enough that some of the girls didn’t buy my whole “gee, I’ve never skated before” act. It’s fun, but I think I’ll leave the derby to the girls. I’m too fragile for that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lacing up

  1. S.T.C says:

    All things being equal, the simplest solution is usually correct!!
    When you are on wheels that make gaining control seem crazy, let go and DON’T try to gain control… Otherwise, as Taoism says… You will become one with the ground.

    If you let go you sail with no direction, but you stay on your feet. Works for me with line skating, and will work in your case, too. Just do yourself a favor and DON’T try to slide down a nearly vertical slope near your house… It goes well until you try to brake and end up upside down against a pole on somebody’s loan. The fall is not so bad, but the landing hurts, a little.

  2. S.T.C says:

    *( oops… it’s spelled ‘lawn’).

Leave a Reply

